Art News | Alfred Freddy Krupa artists' books collected by MoMA | Art Week

Alfred Freddy Krupa artists' books collected by MoMA

Share this



New York

Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) collected 3 artworks of
the pioneer of the New Ink Art movement Alfred Freddy Krupa and
included them in MoMA Manhattan Artists' Book Collection.

Alfred Freddy Krupa (1971-)  is known as the pioneer of the New Ink
Art movement (Modern Ink Painting) and author of the New Ink Art
Manifesto (1996) which original manuscript is today property of the
documenta archive in Kassel, Germany. In 2019 ranked him
in the TOP 10 Modern Ink Painters and in 2020 in the TOP 100 Ink
Painters based on the recorded exhibition history.

The collected works are "Alfred Freddy Krupa : a small recent
collection of drawings = mala recentna kolekcija crteža" (1994),
"Akvarel: iskustva jednog praktičara" (1994) and "The original art
work / artist book by the Krupa / Modern ink painting, what is it?"
(2014). First two has been created during wartime in Croatia, while he
was a student of the Academy of Fine Arts in Zagreb (ALU), in his
birth city of Karlovac which was then on the first front line. The
third one is actually conceptual artwork contemplating the meaning and
value of the Modern In Painting.

This collection, one of the most important of its kind, is fully
devoted to the avant-garde form of artistic expression - the artists'
books (it should not be confused with the MoMa Franklin Furnace
Artists' Book Collection) and some of the most famous names included
in the collection are Vladimir Mayakovsky (1893-1930), Gerhard Richter
(1932-), Andy Warhol (1928-1987), Keith Haring (1958-1990), Dieter
Roth (1930-1998), Sol LeWitt (1928-2007), Yōko Ono (1933-), Hans-Peter
Feldmann (1941-), Allen Ruppersberg (1944-), Marina Abramović (1946-),
Damien Hirst (1965-), Robert Barry (1936-), Herman de Vries (1931-),
James Rosenquist (1933-2017), Edward Ruscha (1937-), Chuck Close
(1940-), John Baldessari (1931-2020), Marshall McLuhan (1911-1980),
Christian Boltanski (1944-), Jim Dine (1935-), Elíasson Ólafur
(1967-), Claes Oldenburg (1929-), Ray Johnson (1927-1995), Anselm
Kiefer (1945-) and many other.

Contact Information: 

Alfred Freddy Krupa

Vladimira Nazora 16b

Karlovac 47000, Croatia